USA Volleyball Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (March 23, 2023) – USA Volleyball is pleased to announce the athletes, coaches and leaders it will celebrate and induct into its Hall of Fame at the annual banquet and ceremony on May 24 at the Omni Hotel in Dallas, Texas.

The Hall of Fame ceremony, a celebration of volleyball’s greatest athletes, coaches, officials and leaders, will take place one day before the 2023 USA Volleyball Open National Championship starts at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center.

The proceeds from the banquet will go to the USA Volleyball Foundation to provide funding to support the Olympic & Paralympic dreams of the athletes in USA Volleyball’s national team program. To purchase tickets and explore sponsorship opportunities, visit 2023 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame

Eight Olympic and Paralympic players will be inducted into the Hall of Fame:
All-Time Great Male Indoor Athlete: Ryan Millar – Three-time Olympic middle blocker (2000, ’04 and ’08) who won gold in 2008 in Beijing.
All-Time Great Male Indoor Athlete: Clay Stanley – Three-time Olympic opposite (2004, ’08, ’12) who won gold and was named Most Valuable Player, Best Scorer and Best Server in 2008 in Beijing.
All-Time Great Female Indoor Athlete: Liane Sato – Two-time Olympic defensive specialist and setter (1988, ’92). She won bronze in Barcelona in 1992.        
All-Time Great Female Indoor Athlete: Logan Tom – Four-time Olympic outside hitter (2000, ’04, ’08, ’12) who won silver medals in 2008 in Beijing and in 2012 in London.
All-Time Great Female Sitting Athlete: Kari (Miller) Ortiz – Three-time Paralympic libero (2008, ’12, ’16) who won the gold medal in 2016 in Rio de Janeiro and silver in both 2008 in Beijing and 2012 in London. All-Time Great Male Sitting Athlete: the late Edgar Laforest – Outside hitter who competed at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro and medaled at the Parapan American Games three times (1 Gold, 2x Silver). Worked as an international referee before passing away in 2020.
All-Time Great Female Beach Athlete: Elaine Youngs – Three-time Olympian (1996 [indoor], 2004, ‘08) who won bronze on the beach in 2004 with Holly McPeak.
All-Time Great Male Beach Athlete: Todd Rogers – Won the gold medal at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing with Phil Dalhausser.

Texas women’s volleyball coach Jerritt Elliott will receive the All-Time Great Coach Award, which recognizes individuals for success and excellence in volleyball coaching over a period of many years. Elliott has coached several successful National Team Development Program (NTDP) age-group teams for USA Volleyball while leading Texas to two NCAA Championships and multiple other titles.

Leaders who will be honored:
Delta Region Commissioner Joe Williams will receive the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award, which recognizes longtime significant contributions to volleyball programs and activities as a player, coach, official, leader and/or administrator at the local and national levels.
Ohio Valley Commissioner Bob Price will be awarded the Dr. Neville A. “Doc” Booth Commissioner’s Award for making significant contributions to volleyball and USA Volleyball through the office of regional commissioner.
USAV Director of Officials Development and national and international referee Pati Rolf will receive the Harry E. Wilson International Service Award for her significant contributions to USA Volleyball and the FIVB, and her involvement in major international events.
Coach Bill Neville will be awarded the
James E. Coleman National Team Award for his  service/involvement with USA national team programs and his outstanding commitment to them.

Verna Klubniken and the late Dan Apol will be honored with the Wilbur H. “Wil” Peck Referee Emeritus Award, which recognizes those who have retired from refereeing on the national level and who have made significant contributions to the USA Volleyball referee program locally, regionally and nationally.

Lynne Updegraff will be presented with the Nancy S. Sharpless Scorer Emeritus Award, which honors individuals who have retired from scoring on the national level and who have made significant contributions to the USA Volleyball scorekeeping program locally, regionally and nationally.

As previously announced, Scott Fortune and the late Elroy Osorio will both receive the Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Lifetime Achievement Award, USA Volleyball’s highest honor.

USA Volleyball will announce its annual award winners in the coming weeks.

For more information about the 2023 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame and to purchase tickets, visit 2023 USA Volleyball Hall of Fame