NC Volleyball Hall of Fame 2024 Class Announced

Clemmons, NC (May 27, 2024) - The North Carolina Volleyball Hall of Fame (NCVBHOF) has announced Heather Erickson and the 2023 Academy 15 Diamond Junior Team as its 2024 Inductees.  Heather is the second inductee under the Player Category and the 2023 Academy 15 Diamond Team becomes the fifth team in the Court of Honor. The NCVBHOF has also announced additional officials to be recognized as Arbiters of Distinction.

Heather has been a standout participant with the USA Women's National Sitting Team since 2007 while she was still in High School. A four-time Paralympian with two Silver and two Gold medals, Heather has performed at the highest level since 2007. Her honors on the volleyball court include:

  • MVP and Best Spiker at the 2016 World ParaVolley Intercontinental Cup
  • MVP and Best Receiver at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Brazil
  • Nominated for a 2016 ESPY for Best Female Athlete with a Disability
  • MVP and Best Spiker at the 2017 World ParaVolley World Super 6 Tournament
  • Finalist for the Women's Sports Foundations Sportswoman of the Year award in both 2016 and 2017
  • MVP and Best Spiker at the 2019 Parapan American Games
  • USA Volleyball Female Sitting Player of the Year in 2013, 2016, and 2018

Heather is still a member of the USA Women's National Sitting Team and hopes to make her 5th Paralympic Roster this summer in Paris.

The NCVBHOF was able to surprise Heather with an induction ceremony in Columbus, Ohio in front of the Men's & Women's National Sitting Teams while they are participating in the 2024 USA Open Championships.

The fifth team to join the Court of Honor in the NC Volleyball Hall of Fame is the 2023 Academy 15 Diamond team. They participated with the NC Volleyball Academy out of Morrisville and won the 15 Open Division at 2023 Northeast Qualifier. The team went on to finish 13th out 36 teams at the 2023 USA Volleyball Girls' Junior National Championships in Chicago, IL. Member of the Academy 15 Diamond team are: Taylor Baggett; Laney Blevins; Taylor Bruce; Evelyn Carlson; Claire Hargett; Genevieve Harris; Lindsey Ivey; Natalie Langston; Eleanor Roys; Ararushi Shah; Ava Wilkerson; Bruce Cao (Head Coach); and Shira Wells (Assistant Coach).

The NC Volleyball Hall of Fame is also pleased to recognize more members of its Arbiters of Distinction display in the Hall of Fame.  The NCVBHOF is committed to recognizing all North Carolina Officials who attained a national certification by a recognized officiating organization.  The latest group of officials to be recognized are:


Jeff Hoppen

Roy West

Dee Yoe

Ray Wiley

Cathy Jones

Dennis Branch

Additional information on the Hall and all its Inductees can be found at the NC Volleyball Hall of Fame page.