All Time - Robert L Lindsay Meritorious Service Award Winners

Each Region of USA Volleyball is allowed to nominate up to five individuals per year for recognition for their service to volleyball in their Regions. The Carolina Region proudly presents past winners of its Meritorious Service Awards. We thank the individuals listed below for their dedication and commitment to furthering the sport of volleyball in North Carolina. Click on the YEAR to see more information on the award winners (for years 2001 and after)!  See bottom of page for more on the Robert L. Lindsay Meritorious Service Award.

Rick BardolphTere DailMark AllenKevin KirkTravis CroomLarry Davis
Tere DailRick BardolphMike CowhigCam MusserRick KiserCharlie McAllister
Pat HielscherMike RedmondTere DailRon StricklandCharlie McAllisterChuck Morris
Rick KiserMarilyn ThompsonCam MusserRoy WestBob MorganCam Musser
Cam MusserClark WrightMike Redmond Marilyn ThompsonWendy Musser

Rob BoggsBetty DavisJim BryanCathy JonesDee YoeKevin Causey
Kevin KirkNancy & Casey HazelmanMary FeichterMarie GrayLane NewsomeAnnette Stanley
Charlie McAllisterJeff HoppenJeff JoyceDennis BranchMatt LaykoDan Pickett
Chuck MorrisChuck McCrackenDonny LukeKeith MurllessTravis Croom 
Cam MusserMalinda WendelboeDan PickettDarlynn & Randy Oxendine  

Barbara HarrisJoe SagulaJohn BogerGregg DinseKarl OwenKathy Bonner
Sherry NorrisJonathon WilsonJohn CoulterMichelle BerryCharlie YangTom Tait
Fred WendelboeMike YoeTraci BlankenshipSusie Griffin Michelle Wood
  Pete Mulligan   
  Diane Williams   

Cathy EdwardsRandy FollasBill ShookEd MatthewsDale HartoughMaria Byars
Deb ToneyBen GuilianoKevin WendelboeMarshall RatliffAllan HaseleyCasey Caram
Donna RiceIngrid Wicker Ray WileyCraig JanakHal Clifton
UNC Men’s Volleyball Club   Jessica KeenanScott Huettel
UNC Women’s Volleyball Club   Marty Woods 

Zoe BellChuck DonnellJenna HintonDoug FaganMichael HodgeWilliam Hoyle
Wade BrenceVaughn HastingsLinda LangAmber FulkBrian MageeRonnie Mutter
Jami OleskewiczFloyd ProphetRick LaskeyTim GabelBlaine TendlerTrina Sharpe
Suzanne PignettiRon WeigandJean LojkoRichard GarryTad WatsonDebbie Weaver

Michael O’ConnorPam Dickenson
Sherry Fadool 

 Greg Fletcher


William SherrillSheila Holloway
 Tony Hill

 Mike Spillman


Barbara VaughnMark Nalevanko
 Patrick Nicholas

 Betsey Wells



Rita Stubbs




Robert L. Lindsay Meritorious Service Award

Named in honor of Robert L. Lindsay, the eighth president of USA Volleyball, 1981-1984, and a former regional commissioner, who was instrumental in the success of the national-team-in-residence program in the 1980s. This program set a new standard for all National Governing Bodies in the United States.

COMMISSION: This vehicle recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to volleyball at the local, regional, national and/or international levels through USA Volleyball or one of its Affiliate Organizations. The award is administered by national office staff.


  1. Active participation and leadership in volleyball during the current playing season as a coach, official and/or administrator.
  2. Promotion of volleyball and/or the corporation with the nominating Member Organization.
  3. Contribution of articles on volleyball in special or regular communication vehicles of the corporation and/or the nominating organization or other such publications having national and/or international distribution.
  4. Speeches or scholarly presentations that serve to promote volleyball play.
  5. Research that enhances the coaching, teaching or analysis of volley- ball play.
  6. An active role in major volleyball programs or projects.
  7. Former recipients are not eligible to receive this award from the same Affiliate Organization but are eligible to receive the recognition from other/another Affiliate Organization(s).